St. Kitts and Nevis has not been named on the European Union’s recently published list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes.

Seventeen countries have been listed as non-cooperative tax jurisdictions.

Among those listed were Barbados, Grenada, Saint Lucia and Trinidad and Tobago.

Prime Minister Dr. Timothy Harris said that the fact that St. Kitts and Nevis did not appear on the list was not an accident, but the result of hard work.

“I want to thank the professional staff in the Ministries of Finance and in Legal Affairs,” he said, noting that they have helped to keep the legal framework in check in St. Kitts and Nevis.